Day In The Life: Construction Worker

IMG_0063

The days I spent at the new UT Southwestern hospital, was of no coinsidence, a location to a story I wrote a while back. The route from the trucking and distrubution industry of Dallas on Mockingbird Rd. through the medical district, to the infamous gun range. Of course I was soaking in all I could in the nine short months I was there.

Origanally, the “Day In The Life” is a program that was directed to the nurses, to train them into action, by a staged real life scenerio. Taking adantage of the time I could while real patients were not there. I wanted to film this and take pictures. I could only remain mysterious, for the jobs they were paying me for, still needed to get taken care of.

IMG_0458 

 
The Building

The architecual design is laid out in modern use for the doctors and nurses. From the computer equipment, to the advanced air conditioning system, and to the very building itself.

One of the medical monitoring computers is roughly about $15,000 or more. They can allow the patient to move freely in and out of the room if desired, while being monitored wirelessly. They have a pluther of up to date machines for convenience of the patient.

The sohphisticated air system relies on basic airflow in which is filtered by numerous machines to put fourth clean air throughout the building. A very expensive process only with the equipment. The process is also designed to save energy.

The building is self sufficient. With it’s own power plant. Designed to supply its own water, and withstand a tornado. The structures purpose is to help the medical staff move more efficiently for it’s patients.

Construction Worker

Usually I’m multitasking in everything I do. This particular project had my dopamine running. Taking the job I knew I had some hard work ahead. The structure, some of the eletrical lines and windows were already established before I came. I have already done this for another building on Pearl Street in Dallas. I have worked with/on heavy equipment, leveling, concrete, heavy tools, blueprints, general labor, on commercial and residential projects. I like projects of any kind within my knowledge and more challenging. I’ll be very honest with you… I don’t like to sit around not getting paid. I work hard and that’s it.

When I first got to the building I felt like a rock star. A lot of  “daps” and high fives were giving. You know what? Pretty much the whole time was like that, but I still did the work and I took it seriously. Most guys there did.

Note to all lazy people: If you keep busy, time goes by faster.

The building is a beautiful work of art. I’m very proud and appreciate the oppurtunity to be a part of it. I would add much more to the story, for I don’t want to take away from what I was there to do. I wanted to shed light on the hard work construction workers do. Not only that, but I met some good guys I respected. The work speaks for itself.

Pictures tell a lot of the story. Here are a few.

IMG_0055

Each line to one room. Cut with concrete chipper. Without drywall.

 

IMG_0071IMG_0120

 

IMG_0235IMG_0259

IMG_0084IMG_0124

Leave a Reply

